Author in need of voice upgrade…

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve posted and I apologise, but a lot has been happening.  I’ve been quite selfish, as I’ve been writing my book rather than blogging, Facebook chatting, Twitter posts and all the other common procrastination tactics  but needs must and all that.

The new novel is getting close to being completed and I’ll soon be creating an ’email list’ option through here and my website so that those interested can find out the exact release date and, if they wish, pre-order if interested.

It was due to be released in September but due to reasons which are both boring and of no particular interest to anyone other than myself and possibly the dog, I’ve been a little distracted.  But the engine has restarted and, other than the need for a complete service and oil change, I’m good to go… I’m writing again and my book should be out at the end of the year.  As it’s based on a cruise sailing around the Aegean Sea and Med, it will hopefully offer a little ray of sunshine through the winter months.   Here’s a photo of a destination featured in a couple of the chapters, the beautiful island of Mykonos.

Photo of Mykonos

The title is still a work in progress – I’m hoping it will come to me once it’s all finished, just like last time.  If not, It could take another year to release… umm.   And, this time, on launch day, I’ll be releasing all formats at the same time – paperback, e-book and audio.

Yes, audio!  So, that brings me onto my next bit of news which is linked to the title of this blog.  I’m about to start narrating books and, in particular, my own for audio format.  And, I’m really not sure my voice is up to it as it could honestly curdle milk and scare burglars.  I’m hoping for a sore throat that will make me sound sexy and interesting. Unlikely, but possible.

The spare bedroom is going to become a recording studio.  Oh yes, I’m going to have one of those proper microphones with a fluffy thing around it and I can pretend I’m on the radio!  If I was young and trendy and ‘down with the kids’ I’d compare myself to a presenter  (or, as my middle-aged brain likes to call them, DJ’s) from Radio 1 but, as I’m not, I’ll liken myself to a Tony Blackburn type.  Which is fine, as he is ‘super, smashing and great .’

As for writing, as soon as this book is finished I’ll be moving onto my next one which is going to be a non-fiction.  It’s a self-help book and has been in my head for many years.  So, am hoping I can write it as quickly and painlessly as possible.  My background is non-fiction I guess, having written training manuals and courseware for years and so I’m quite excited about it.

And, I’ll be creating Podcasts in my snazzy recording studio, primarily to support the non-fiction book and also as an additional resource for some training events I may be running.

So, lots to look forward to.   I’m feeling really excited.

As a final note, ‘Friendship, Love and Apple Tea’ continues to sell very well. Thank you everyone for your support.  Close to 2000 copies, nearly 80 reviews on Amazon (average 5 stars) and I’ve made some great friends with so many of you that have written to me either by email or through social media.   If you haven’t read it, give it a try – it’s full of sunshine and  fun in the sun.  And, with colder months on their way, it’s just what the doctor ordered.

Happy Autumn, or Fall (for my American friends…)

Penny

Author: Penny

Born in South Northamptonshire, UK and still lives there along with my husband, daughter and several furry friends. I'm a writer or romantic comedy novels and have also written comedy scripts, which have been performed locally, and am a co-writer on a radio sitcom called 'Babz and Irene'.

Leave a comment